Colorado authorities increasing DUI enforcement for summer

On behalf of Eric Anaya at Anaya-McKedy, P.C.

Colorado police are increasing DUI patrols for the summer as part of their "The Heat Is On" campaign.

Memorial Day weekend is the traditional start of summer in Colorado and across the U.S. While Colorado residents celebrated the beginning of summer 2014 after a long winter, Colorado authorities hit the streets to start a summer-long initiative increasing patrols looking for intoxicated drivers. Colorado residents should be aware of the severe penalties that accompany a conviction for Driving Under the Influence charges, which they may face if stopped by one of these DUI patrols.

The Heat Is On campaign

The Colorado Department of Transportation, the Colorado State Police and local law enforcement agencies teamed up to launch The Heat Is On, a statewide push in the number of officers out patrolling for drivers whom officers suspect are intoxicated. The Heat Is On is a year-long effort that has 12 specific enforcement periods. Officers began the first major enforcement effort of the summer during Memorial Day weekend, from May 23 to May 27, 2014. The campaign will last through Labor Day weekend. Police officers will also distribute informational cards about impaired driving at DUI checkpoints.

Law enforcement personnel conducted The Heat Is On campaign in 2013, as well. Between Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends of 2013, police arrested 2,386 people for suspicion of Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Ability Impaired.

Penalties For DUI Convictions In Colorado

Steep penalties go along with a DUI conviction in Colorado — even for a first offense. A first DUI conviction can result in up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 and a nine-month license suspension. Penalties get even harsher when a person has multiple DUI convictions on his or her record. For a second DUI conviction, a person can receive a jail sentence of up to one year, a fine of up to $1,500 and a one-year license suspension. A third DUI conviction can cause a person to serve up to one year in jail, pay a fine of up to $1,500 and have a suspended license for two years.

Defending Against DUI Charges

Being convicted of DUI charges can completely disrupt a person's life, and it may impact a person's ability to get to work and make a living. Because the penalties for a DUI conviction are so harsh, it is crucial that those facing DUI charges have someone looking out for their interests and defending their rights. If you are dealing with charges stemming from intoxicated driving, speak with a skilled DUI defense attorney who can help mitigate the effect that such charges can have.

Keywords: DUI; drunk driving; DWAI